The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a widely recognized English proficiency test. It was first introduced in 1980 and has since become one of the most popular English language tests worldwide. The test is designed to assess an individual’s ability to understand and use the English language in academic and general contexts.

How many types of IELTS tests are there?

1. IELTS Academic

The IELTS Academic Test is suitable for individuals planning to enroll in international universities for undergraduate or postgraduate programs or those aiming to begin their professional journey in a foreign country. This test is specifically designed to evaluate the English language proficiency of candidates who intend to pursue higher education in an English-speaking nation.

2. IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is suitable for individuals seeking to apply for educational programs below the degree level. Also, it can be taken for work-related purposes or other employment training. This test assesses the practical English language skills necessary for everyday communication in a social and professional environment.

Both types of tests include four sections: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. The Listening and Speaking sections are the same for both tests, while there are slight variations in the Reading and Writing sections based on the test type.

Format of the IELTS Test

In this test, you have to listen to a sample piece of text that is played to you, and you have to answer 40 questions related to the text. You have 30 minutes to complete the test.

This test section has two parts:

  • Short portion (150 words): You have to describe the provided task in about 150 words, showcasing your ability to explain it clearly.
  • Long portion (200 words): You provide your opinion on a given situation, demonstrating your proficiency in expressing views and opinions in English.

This portion of the test requires you to read 3 passages which are provided to you. Each piece is allowed 20 minutes each.

The speaking test is taken separately and may last for 10 minutes to half an hour, depending on the test conductor. The examiner sees how fluent your English is and if you can or cannot communicate in English with ease.

IELTS Score Scale

Band 9

Expert User

The test taker has fully operational command of the language. Their use of English is appropriate, accurate and fluent, and shows complete understanding.

Band 8

Very good user

The test taker has fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriate usage. They may misunderstand some things in unfamiliar situations. They handle complex and detailed argumentation well.

Band 7

Good user

The test taker has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings in some situations. They generally handle complex language well and understand detailed reasoning.

Band 6

Competent user

The test taker has an effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriate usage and misunderstandings. They can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.

Band 5

Modest user

The test taker has a partial command of the language and copes with overall meaning in most situations, although they are likely to make many mistakes. They should be able to handle basic communication in their own field.

Band 4

Limited user

The test taker’s basic competence is limited to familiar situations. They frequently show problems in understanding and expression. They are not able to use complex language.

Band 3

Extremely limited user

The test taker conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. There are frequent breakdowns in communication.

Band 2

Intermittent user

The test taker has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.

Band 1


The test taker has no ability to use the language except a few isolated words.

Band 0

Did not attempt the test

The test taker did not answer the questions.


How Long does it to take IELTS Test Score?

The IELTS test score result is published online within 13 days and the hard copy is issued after 17 days from your LRW test.

How much does it cost to book IELTS Date?

It takes Rs. 25,300 to book an IELTS test date.

How do i book IELTS date in Nepal?

You can book your IELTS date from the consultancy you are trying to apply for. If you don’t want to book your IELTS date from a consultancy, you can either book the test from IDP or British Council Nepal.

What is the duration of IELTS Date?

The IELTS test lasts for 3 hours which includes listening, reading and writing. Speaking test is taken separately which may last for 10 minutes to half an hour depending on the test conductor.